Rockabilly Styling For Men And Women

So he thinks he is Walking the Line, but she sees him as more a Dead Man Walking. The great thing about rockabilly style is that it is fun and flirtatious, creative and retro, sexy and conservative, open for all kinds of interpretation with something everyone young and old can appreciate. There is even clean cut and gritty versions. And if you really want to talk about women’s lib look up Women of Rockabilly. There is a particularly interesting documentary called Welcome to the Club: Women of Rockabilly.

Hank Acronym Temps Ais With His Smooth Rockabilly Style - Click the picture for full outfit details

Hank Acronym Temps Ais With His Smooth Rockabilly Style - Click the picture for full outfit details

When my friend Hank Acronym said he wanted to look like Sean Penn in walk the line the same day that I was decked out in Adreahna Vlodovic’s [AV] 50’s Housewives All Black (http://slurl.com/secondlife/Venus/104/24/28),

Aisling Rockabilly Outfit Composite 2 - Click picture for full outfit details

Aisling Rockabilly Outfit Composite 2 - Click picture for full outfit details

it seemed a match made in heaven. So we started on the hunt for the best Rockabilly hair around. Men’s hair is never easy, and this particular style is even more elusive. Plus, we needed more than just the hair, we had to have the chops and the goatee, too. We found the hair at Pirate Arts on this great sim, ConneXXion Sim (http://slurl.com/secondlife/ConneXXion/144/50/25), and the goatee at Calico Creations. The style needed to be a step up from grunge / greaser, because we decided to hang out and do the photos in the dinner / lounge on the sim. Here is what we came up with.

Hank Acronyms Rockabilly Style - Click the picture for full style details

Hank Acronym's Rockabilly Style - Click the picture for full style details

My own style just happened to be what I had thrown on that day feeling kind of retro at the time. Maybe it had something to do with it being Elvis Week in my home town of Memphis, TN, week long celebration of the singers life for an entire week on the aniversary of his death. I have been feeling that kind of retro feel in general of late so maybe that is all it was. I think it is also likely that the new skin that I purchased from []::Tuli::[] could have something to do with it. It is called ::SUMI:: beauty in sunkissed skin collor and has the most adorable freckles and pouty red lips.

In any case the D’Orsey Heals in Black and the [AV] 50s House Wife dress with Ruby hair from >Truth< was just the trick. Not one who normally wears jewelry in Real Life or in Second life, I am really careful when I do choose what I want to wear and though it was out of its intended style range, there isn’t a choice that could have pleased me more than the Kaya Onyx  Bracelets & Earrings in *silver* from Zaara (I think that stands for goddess of all things design.). I would like to add that I don’t know many housewives from the 50s who were wearing winged hearts witn love banners across the heart on the back of their dresses. Maybe the ones that were were the forerunners to the future desparate ones. One last note, though none of the styles are pictured here if you like the Rockabilly look or the retro / pinup looks you should also check out Artilleri (http://slurl.com/secondlife/artilleri/106/70/24)

Aisling Rockabilly Outfit Composite - Click picture for full outfit details
Aisling Rockabilly Outfit Composite – Click picture for full outfit details

I hope my ramblings have put you in a mood to imagine the fun you and your friends can have exploring the ConneXXion Sim. There you will find everything from Pirate Arts for incredible retro hair styles for men and women to one of the best motorcycle shops in SL (yes, Zara Yipp Made these bikes, too) that specializes in Indians, the coolest motorcycle ever, imho. You can hang out at the dinner and listen to some tunes while you bebop along. There is even a place on the sim where you can jump in and start your own Rockabilly band, singers mic, guitar, drums, upright base and everything. I hope you will act on those imaginings and see for yourself. For me, it was also inspiring time to be visiting this sim and be able to remember the artist from the time, like Les Paul, the father of the electric guitar, who had died that very week (August 13, 2009) and Elvis Presley who though he died years ago that same week (August 16, 1977) his influences on Rockabilly & Rock ‘N Roll live on to this day. And now I think I will go dance…

Ais Just Wants To Dance - Click picture for full outfit details

Ais Just Wants To Dance - Click picture for full outfit details

SLURLS:

This entry was posted in Second Life Adventure, Second Life Fashion and tagged , , , , , , by Ais. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ais

SL Fashionista cum wannabe blogger, born October 7, 2008. I answer to almost anything, but friends call me Ash. Please call me Ash, but I spell it Ais. Please come and enjoy my public airing of my crazy thoughts, styles, rants or raves on fashion, things and what not... And by public I don't mean my usual shout across a crowded gathering, "Hey, btw, those are great pants, shoes, bracelets, etc. Do you mind telling me where you got them?" or "Oh, you like my cleavage? It is Ayumi cleavage. The best thing since the real boob :D" What I mean is sharing my quirky, pixel-shy, latex loving, sense of style and my love of SL designers. To me SL Fashion is art, it is a passion, and it is something that brings me great joy to share and talk about.

One thought on “Rockabilly Styling For Men And Women

  1. Pingback: Rockabilly Styling For Men And Women « iheartsl.com Second Life’s largest community blog

Leave a Reply

