It’s in “Les Petits Details”

There is an adorable store that I have been aware of for a long time but haven’t really ever blogged anything, from it, and I just can’t figure out why. The clothes and skins and shoes are adorable. I decided to do the entire outfit composed with the items I got from Nevery Lorakeet, the creator of LpD, a.k.a. Les Petits Details.

Composite - LpD - Mirage Minidress

Composite - LpD - Mirage Minidress

For starters there is the Mirage Minidress, which comes in 3 colors – Red Tones, Blue Tones, and Violet Tones.  The fabric texture is this beautifully-textured, swaded fabric that is enhanced by luscious colors, and lovely paisley and geometric patterns. The dresses also come with matching tights, but they weren’t my particular style so I pared the dresses with these adorable Merino Leggins from League. They tucked in well to the boots that I also got from Nevery.

Composite - LpD - OldBoy Boots With Socks

Composite - LpD - OldBoy Boots With Socks

The boots have an option to wear them with or without socks and come in 8 different colors – Wine, White, Smoke, Sage, Jeans, Glicine, Brown, and Black. One of the great things about these boots, apart from excellent texturing, is that they are unisex. Considering that there are definitely more items made for men that work for women than vice versa in Second Life, It is nice to see a designer that designs primarily for females making a unisex item rather than the other way around.

Composite - LpD - OldBoy Boots Without Socks

Composite - LpD - OldBoy Boots Without Socks

Les petite Details is extremely well known for their skins. In fact, it was a couple years ago that I first met Nevery at an art gallery opening and asked her about the brilliant skin her avatar was wearing. That was when she told me she made it and that she made other things as well like the cool outfit she had on. Now to be fair, I think her skins look way better on her shape than on mine, but I always try on skins with my own shape. In some cases, that means I don’t review them, not because they aren’t good skins, but not every skin is going to look good on every shape. Now that said I do like how this skin looks on my face and the makeups are really fresh and light. In fact, they have almost no eye makeup at all (More on that later).

Composite - Alice (Darker) (Lashes) (Breasts 2)

Composite - Alice (Darker) (Lashes) (Breasts 2)

The skin offers two tones (lighter and darker, neither of which is that dark), has five lipsticks, and options for either lashes or no lashes. The fatpack of skins I got came with an adorable shape. So if you aren’t happy with your shape or are just starting out, this will be a good option as well. Its a much more innocent, cherubic shape than mine.

Composite - Alice (Darker) (No Lashes) (Breasts 2)

Composite - Alice (Darker) (No Lashes) (Breasts 2)

Below you can see how much paler the lighter skin is than the darker one I have used for this post. If you needed something kind of exotic or unusual for a goth or a vampire look this skin could work. Say for example an Alice or an Esme look?

Composite - Alice (Darker vs Lighter) (Teeth vs No Teeth) (No Lashes)

Composite - Alice (Darker vs Lighter) (Teeth vs No Teeth) (No Lashes)

So I mentioned earlier that the skins have almost no eye makeup then you see the three pictures below and you can see I am wearing eye makeup. That’s not just any eye makeup. I made it myself from scratch without a template for eyeshadow. It is my first time ever to make a texture for any type of clothing or body part. I wanted two different eye colors, one blue and one green, in spring colors that coordinated with the dress. I really liked the way this turned out so I have been working on a variety of makeup styles and colors, just to see if I could do it. Since this blog is called Ashes to Ashes, the makeups are going to be Dust to Dust. I will be doing a free gift for Easter for the members of the Vershe VIP group. So be on the look out for that.

Head Shot Close Up

Collar and Makeup Closeups

I decided to get some unedited shots of the outfit out exploring for the Unedited Challenge. I don’ think these are my best work but I am still having some problems with the shadows and depth of field. I have noticed I am having more problems now that I have moved to the v4 of Firestorm than I had on the last version of v3 that was out. It is probably me just needing to work with it more but never the less, it impedes my ability to get the shot I want exactly the way I want it. That said, I am enthused about the new interface (FUI) and the new Direct Delivery method for market place that have been rolled out.

Unedited Picture from Adventures in Malt

Unedited Picture from Adventures in Malt

The above and below picture are unedited for the Unedited Picture Challenge (www.flickr.com/groups/unedited_challenge/). It is a Flickr group that anyone can join if they are interested in showing what can be done without Photoshop. Figures I am working on this post with two pictures the same weekend my full version of the Adobe CS 5.5 arrives.

Unedited Picture from Adventures in Malt

Unedited Picture from Adventures in Malt

So here is what the group description says about the group, “Unedited: A blogger/photographer challenge: This is a blogging/photography challenge put together by Harlow Heslop. Your challenge is to take a completely unedited photograph in Second Life. You are allowed to use any windlight you please, but you aren’t allowed to use HUDs, photoshop, or any other altering/editing software to enhance/decorate your photograph. How beautiful will your photo be? Time to find out!” I encourage you to go and check out what people have been able to do with out any form of photo editing.

That said it is off to bed for me

Style Card

Store SLURLs available on the SLURLs page

Skin: *LpD* Skins – *Alice* Juice (No Lashes) Breast 2 (Darker)*
Dress: *LPD* – *Mirage*  Minidress Red Tones (Shirt Layer) *
Boots: *LpD* – *OldBoy* Boots Sage*
Hair: [e] About – Red 05
Eye Shadow: Dust ~ Duo Tone Softened Eyeshadow With Duo Lower Liner (not available yet)
Eyes: [SLB] Eyes – July’09 – Green R
Eye Lashes: Crissy Designs – Irresistible Look Eyelashes
Leggings: *League* Merino Leggings -MidCalf -Teal (ul)
Nails: *Sexy Mamas* Prim Nails

*Review Copies

This entry was posted in Second Life Fashion by Ais. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ais

SL Fashionista cum wannabe blogger, born October 7, 2008. I answer to almost anything, but friends call me Ash. Please call me Ash, but I spell it Ais. Please come and enjoy my public airing of my crazy thoughts, styles, rants or raves on fashion, things and what not... And by public I don't mean my usual shout across a crowded gathering, "Hey, btw, those are great pants, shoes, bracelets, etc. Do you mind telling me where you got them?" or "Oh, you like my cleavage? It is Ayumi cleavage. The best thing since the real boob :D" What I mean is sharing my quirky, pixel-shy, latex loving, sense of style and my love of SL designers. To me SL Fashion is art, it is a passion, and it is something that brings me great joy to share and talk about.

One thought on “It’s in “Les Petits Details”

  1. Pingback: To My Friend, Khloe | Ashes To Ashes, Sale To Sale

Leave a Reply

